All systems green: Thermotank Quadroline has energy label A or B depending on the design

Key date for eco-design and energy labelling: 26 September 2015
The countdown has begun: the energy labels we know from household appliances are now coming to heating installations in the cellar. The European Union’s ErP (energy-related products) Directive stipulates the legal framework for designing energy-consumption-related products in an environmentally friendly way and indicating their efficiency. The aim of the efficiency label is to help consumers choose an efficient product.

This means that heat generators and heat storage tanks holding up to 500 litres must be labelled with energy efficiency classes from 26 September 2015. It will not be compulsory to publish information about appliance efficiency until this date, but this obligation must be met from then on. Hot water requirements are set to be made more stringent from 2017.

In addition, due to the new implementing Regulation, hot water and buffer storage tanks holding up to 2,000 litres may now only be put on the European market if they meet efficiency and thermal insulation standards. The labels for heat storage tanks cover classes A to G.

The Roth Thermotank Quadroline heat storage tank for domestic and heating water is extremely energy-efficient. Tests conducted by the Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems (ISE) in Freiburg have confirmed the energy label A rating of the Roth Thermotank Quadroline design with Thermocoat plus. For example, the Fraunhofer Institute’s test measured heat losses (S) of 59.3 watts for the 500-litre storage tank with Thermocoat plus, which is up to 65 per cent less heat loss than standard tanks. The Thermocoat plus is available for the 325- and 500-litre storage tanks. The standard version of the Roth Thermotank Quadroline also proved to be highly energy-efficient in the Fraunhofer Institute’s test and has been awarded energy label B.

The most efficient of its kind
Thanks to its efficient heat storage, the Roth plastic storage tank loses very little heat when it is idle. Depending on the model, the Roth Thermotank Quadroline can reduce heating processes by a quarter. The Roth Thermotank Quadroline is the world’s first and only pressure-resistant plastic composite hot water storage tank for heating and domestic water. It consists of a thermally stable thermoplastic tank and high-performance composite filament material with integrated diffusion protection. The energy balance of the Thermotank is considerably better than metal storage tank materials thanks to the optimal heat insulation properties of the storage tank material. A stable outer cover made from special high-performance EPS insulation also enables efficient minimisation of heat loss.

You can find the corresponding Roth energy labels here.

Alles im grünen Bereich: Thermotank Quadroline je nach Ausführung mit Energielabel A oder B

Stichtag für Ökodesign und Energiekennzeichnung: 26. September 2015
Der Countdown läuft: Die von Haushaltsgeräten bekannten Energielabel halten nun auch Einzug in den Heizungskeller. Die ErP-Richtlinie (ErP = Energy related Products) der Europäischen Union gibt den Rechtsrahmen für die umweltgerechte Gestaltung energieverbrauchsrelevanter Produkte und ihre Effizienzkennzeichnung vor. Die Effizienzkennzeichnung soll dem Verbraucher helfen, sich für ein effizientes Produkt zu entscheiden.

Demnach müssen ab 26. September 2015 Wärmeerzeuger und Wärmespeicher bis 500 Liter mit Energieeffizienzklassen gekennzeichnet werden. Bis zum Stichtag ist die Veröffentlichung von Informationen zur Effizienz der Geräte noch freiwillig, danach ist die Erfüllung Pflicht. Eine Verschärfung der Anforderungen für Warmwasser ist ab 2017 vorgesehen.

Außerdem dürfen aufgrund der neuen Durchführungsverordnung Warmwasser- und Pufferspeicher bis 2000 Liter Volumen in Europa nur noch in den Verkehr gebracht werden, wenn Anforderungen an Effizienz und Wärmeschutz eingehalten werden. Die Etiketten für Wärmespeicher sind in Klassen von A bis G eingeteilt.

Der Wärmespeicher Roth Thermotank Quadroline für Trink- und Heizungswasser weist eine Top-Energieeffizienz auf. Untersuchungen des Fraunhofer Instituts für Solare Energiesysteme ISE in Freiburg bestätigen die Kennzeichnung mit dem Energielabel A für die Ausführung des Roth Thermotank Quadroline mit Thermocoat plus. So ergab der Test des Fraunhofer Instituts 59,3 Watt Wärmehalteverluste S für den 500 Liter-Speicher mit Thermocoat plus und damit bis zu 65 Prozent weniger Wärmeverluste gegenüber Standardspeichern. Der Thermocoat plus ist für die 325 und 500 Liter-Speicher erhältlich. Auch die Standardvariante des Roth Thermotanks Quadroline hat sich in der Untersuchung des Fraunhofer Instituts als sehr energieeffizient erwiesen und wird mit dem Energielabel B gekennzeichnet.

Der Effizienteste seiner Art
Aufgrund der effizienten Wärmespeicherung sind die Stillstandsverluste beim Roth Kunststoffspeicher sehr gering. Je nach Modell können mit dem Roth Thermotank Quadroline die Aufheizvorgänge um ein Viertel reduziert werden. Der Roth Thermotank Quadroline ist der weltweit erste und einzige druckfeste Kunststoff-Composite Warmwasserspeicher für Heizung und Trinkwasser. Er besteht aus einem wärmestabilen Thermoplast-Speicher plus Hochleistungs-Faserverbundmaterial mit integriertem Diffusionsschutz. Gegenüber metallischen Speicherwerkstoffen ist die Energiebilanz des Thermotanks deutlich besser, da die Wärmedämmeigenschaften des Speichermaterials ideal sind. Ein stabiler Außenmantel aus einer speziellen EPS-Hochleistungsdämmung ermöglicht zusätzlich die effiziente Minimierung von Wärmeverlusten.

Die entsprechenden Roth Energielabels finden Sie hier.